Skip to main content
In order to provide complete functionality, this web site needs your explicit consent to store browser cookies. If you don't allow cookies, you may not be able to use certain features of the web site including but not limited to: log in, buy products, see personalized content, switch between site cultures. It is recommended that you allow all cookies.



Secretary of State appoints new Commissioners

Secretary of State appoints new Commissioners
Equality Commission press release

The Equality Commission welcomes the appointment of two new Commissioners and the reappointment of four existing Commissioners by the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland.

The new Commissioners are Lisa Caldwell and Stephen Mathews.

Neil Anderson, Duane Farrell, Jarlath Kearney and Carmel McKinney have been reappointed for a further 3 years.

Geraldine McGahey OBE, Chief Commissioner of the Equality Commission, said:

“I welcome the appointment of Lisa Caldwell and Stephen Mathews, and I look forward to working with both Lisa and Stephen, whose experience and expertise will be of great value to Commission.  

I welcome the reappointment of Neil Anderson, Duane Farrell, Jarlath Kearney and Carmel McKinney who have made a great contribution to our work to date and I am confident that they will maintain the commitment and enthusiasm they have shown in working to advance a more equal and inclusive Northern Ireland.”

Geraldine McGahey also paid tribute to the two Commissioners, Helen Ferguson and Deepa Mann-Kler who retire on reaching the end of their term of office.  The Commission has benefitted greatly from their knowledge and expertise, as well as their professionalism and commitment to addressing inequalities and championing equality throughout their tenure.  I wish them well for the future” she said.

“I look forward to working with the new Board of Commissioners promoting equality of opportunity and challenging discrimination.”

Northern Ireland Office press release

View or print this article in pdf format

< News archive